Back-to-Back

Angie looked over the guardrail to the swirling water of the Pacific Ocean. It wasn’t the contemplative stroll she had sought. Tourists taking selfies, cyclists whizzing by, and the stream of cars created a chaotic scene.

She had one month to figure out her summer. The dorms would close and she would be homeless. She had no family and her tiny savings wouldn’t last long. Her part-time job couldn’t offer more hours and other applications hadn’t been accepted.

“Why was life always so hard?” she thought, as a tear slid down her cheek.

“Hey. You okay?” a soft voice said kindly.

A young woman about Angie’s age sidled next to her at the rail. “You look sad. You need someone to talk to?” she said.

“Uh, hi. Ummm. No, I’m fine,” Angie stammered, bothered by the intrusion on her thoughts.

“I’m Angela, one of the Bridgewatch Angels. Yeah, I know … Angela/Angels … it sounds corny,” she laughed. “We’re a group that walks the bridge and looks out for anyone that needs a friend.”

“I’m not considering suicide. Really. I just don’t know how I’ll afford to live in the City between semesters. But, thank you,” Angie turned to walk away.

“Here’s my card. If you want to talk, I’m a good listener,” Angela said.

Totally against her private nature, Angie stopped.

“If you’re heading to the parking lot, we could walk together. I’m Angela, too, but Angie works.”

“What a coincidence!” answered Angela. “Tell me your worries. Sometimes it helps to share.”

Angie told Angela about being in foster care her whole life, the scholarship that lead her from Ohio to UCSF, and her dream of being a pediatrician. She shared how hard this year had been with the high cost of books and lab supplies. She was afraid she’d have to live in her car this summer.

Angela had offered suggestions of renting a room with other students, putting an ad on CraigsList and looking in nearby, more affordable cities. All of these options had been explored, to no avail.

They arrived at the viewing point at the end of the bridge and looked across San Francisco Bay. Angela pointed to a sailboat gliding across the waves.

“Have you ever sailed? I’ve lived here my whole life and never had the chance. It looks so serene,” she said.

“I’ve sailed for years,” Angie answered. “Lake Erie has an active sailing community that sponsors foster kids. It was sometimes my only joy. I could join the university sailing team, but I don’t have time with back-to-back classes and work. I miss it.”

Angie had an epiphany and her face lit up.

“That’s it! Why didn’t I think of this before?” she said.

“What?” Angela said, confused.

“A boat! I can buy a little one to live aboard. I can teach lessons or work at a marina or yacht club. I’ve got a boatload of ideas!” Angie laughed.

Angie spontaneously gave Angela a hug.

“Thanks so much! Gotta run. I’m going sailing!”

Bridgewatch Angels is a group of volunteers who come together at the Golden Gate Bridge to engage in suicide prevention. For more information, visit bridgewatchangels.org.

Leave a comment