I Told You So

“You come from a long bloodline of healers,” Altha began.

“The books you studied were written by your great-grandmother, Rafaela. The potions to cure a fever, sweat, ease pain, and the one you used to expel the fetuses from the Queen, were hers or those passed down by her ancestors.”

“The gift was once considered a curse,” Altha continued, “Rafaela was the first to share her skills and saved many.”

“You are my kin?” I asked.

“I am your mother’s sister,” Altha answered. “This was her home and I have been the caretaker until your return.”

“Why have I never met you?”

“Chaya, all will be revealed. Be patient and listen,” Altha replied. “Just like your mother. She was always bubbling with excitement for the next sunrise or sunset. She was not one to live in the moment. But more about her in a bit.”

“I am anxious to hear the story,” I murmured.

“Of course you are. This is a lot to take in. I will finish the tale of your great-grandmother and then we will arden and prepare the mid-day meal,” Altha said.

Altha spent the better part of the morning describing Rafaela’s journey from childhood to that of young woman, her defiance of an arranged marriage and subsequent banishment from her home. She told how Rafaela traveled alone for three seasons before joining a settlement of Romanichal Travelers. She moved about the countryside with them, enhancing her skills under the tutelage of an experienced healer.

“Rafaela and a horse trainer, the son of the gypsy king, fell in love. Although the community accepted her, they frowned upon their royalty marrying outside their blood.”

“Didn’t her lover fight for her?” I asked, fully immersed in my great-grandmother’s tale.

“He did. But his father threatened to disown them if they married. In the end, he wouldn’t defy the king. So once again Rafaela fled to find a new home.”

Altha continued Rafaela’s tale. Her travels took her to a town on the outskirts of a castle. A fever had spread and many had died and more were on the verge of death. Rafaela quickly shared her healing brew, most recovered and she was lauded for her gifts and welcomed into the community. It was there that she found she was with child.

“Rafaela hid her pregnancy, afraid she would be sent away yet again. But the townspeople were grateful for her healing skills and helped raise Sirona, your grandmother.”

Altha rose. “We shall garden and eat and then continue.”

“What happened to Rafaela and the baby?” I demanded.

“In time, Chaya. We need nourishment.”

“I need to know my story!” I huffed, striding to the doorway. “You garden. I am going for a walk.”

The swan couple had nestled in a patch of grass outside the front walk.

“She has fire in her blood, just like her mother,” said the male.

“I told you so,” said the female. “Wait until she has heard the full story.”

Leave a comment